

Honored Students (left to right) Rex D. Wiegand, Ronald K. Mitchum, Erik Manley, Michael Green and Wayne R. Bidlack, and R.T. Holman, Chairman, Honored Student Committee.

## Five Honored Students chosen from 23 nominees

Five Honored Students, chosen from 23 nominees as most meritorious in graduate study in areas related to fats, oils and lipids, were presented certificates at the JOCS-AOCS 1972 Joint Meeting. As part of the Honored Student Award, each recipient was also given funds to cover the cost of attending the Los Angeles meeting.

Rex D. Wiegand is a graduate student in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Texas A&M University, studying with Prof. Raymond Reiser. His research work is on the dietary regulation of fatty acid synthetase and acyl transferase enzymes in rat liver; he expects to receive his Ph.D. degree in late 1972. Wiegand, who presented the results of his research work before the technical session of

## Bolley and Potts named Award of Merit recipients

The Award of Merit, given in recognition of active and meritorious service to AOCS committee work, marked leadership in technical Society activities, and outstanding activity and service that has advanced the Society's prestige, was presented to Don S. Bolley and Thomas J. Potts at the JOCS-AOCS 1972 Joint Meeting. The corecipients are long-time members of the Society, Bolley since 1940, and Potts since 1945.

Bolley, who is Technical Director of Baker Castor Oil Co. in Bayonne, N.J., has contributed to general Society activities, as well as to committee work. He has served as chairman of the Hydroxyl Value Subcommittee, 1952-61; chairman of the 1964 convention in New York City; and chairman of the Drying Oils Subcommittee, 1962-68.

Potts has contributed to the work of the Aflatoxin Committee Evaluation; Degummed Soybean Oil, 1950-53; Urease Activity Subcommittee (chairman); Crude Fiber Subcommittee, 1960-69; and Uniform Methods Committee, 1969-. He is employed as Research Scientist for the Ralston Purina Co., St. Louis, Mo. the Society, plans to take additional training as a postdoctoral fellow.

Ronald K. Mitchum will receive his Ph.D. degree in September of this year from Oklahoma State University where he studies with Prof. E.J. Eisenbraun in the Department of Chemistry. The subject of his research has been application of mass spectrometry to lipid analysis. He received the Graduate Excellence Award of his University in 1970, held a research fellowship of Continental Oil Co. in 1970, is at present NSF Research Trainee and is Vice-President of the local Phi Lambda Upsilon chapter.

Eric Manley expects to receive his Ph.D. degree from the University of New Mexico in 1973. He is studying with Prof. Robert E. Tapscott in the Department of Chemistry, and his research subject is the inhibition of cholesterol biosynthesis. He held a Regent's Scholarship at the University of Nebraska as an undergraduate, an NSF summer fellowship at the University of New Mexico, and was a participant in the Third Winter School of the Pan American Association of Biochemical Societies in Oaxtepec, Mexico.

Michael H. Green expects to complete the requirements for the Ph.D. degree at the University of California at Berkeley in late 1972. He is studying with Prof. Rosemarie Ostwald in the Department of Nutritional Sciences, and his subject for research is cholesterol metabolism in normal and hypercholesterolemic guinea pigs. In 1971 he was chairman of the Nutritional Sciences Graduate Student Association, has been graduate representative to the Graduate Assembly and to the Student Faculty Committee for the College of Agriculture. He has been in charge of departmental seminars in 1970, and is involved in committees for evaluation and improvement of graduate training in nutrition. His plans are to enter the field of teaching and research.

Wayne R. Bidlack will receive his Ph.D. degree from the University of California at Davis in September. He has been studying with Prof. A.L. Tappel in the Department of Food Science and Technology. The subject of his research is molecular damage to membranes resulting from lipid peroxidation.

Seven other Honored Student Awards have been made; the recipients will attend the AOCS Fall Meeting in Ottawa.